HOWARD DEAN Biography - Polititians


Biography » polititians » howard dean


Name: Howard Brush Dean                                                             
Born: 17 November 1948 East Hampton, New York                                       
Howard Brush Dean III (born November 17, 1948) is an American politician and       
physician from the U.S. state of Vermont, and currently the chairman of the         
Democratic National Committee, the central organization of the Democratic Party     
at the national level. Before entering politics, Dean received his medical         
degree from the Albert Einstein College of Medicine in 1978. Dean was elected to   
the Vermont House of Representatives as a Democrat in 1982 and was elected         
lieutenant governor in 1986. Both were part-time positions that enabled him to     
continue practicing medicine. In 1991, Dean became Governor of Vermont when         
Richard A. Snelling died in office. Dean was subsequently elected to five two-year 
terms, serving as governor from 1991 to 2003, making him the second longest-serving 
Governor in Vermont history, after Thomas Chittenden (1778–1789 and 1790–1797). 
Dean served as chairman of the National Governors Association from 1994 to 1995;   
during his term, Vermont paid off much of its public debt and had a balanced       
budget 11 times, lowering income taxes twice. Dean also oversaw the expansion of   
the "Dr. Dynasaur" program, which ensures universal health care for children and   
pregnant women in the state.                                                       
An early front-runner in the 2004 Democratic Presidential nomination, Dean         
denounced the 2003 invasion of Iraq along with Democrats who he felt should have   
more strongly opposed the Bush Administration, and showed strong fundraising       
ability; however, he eventually lost the nomination to Senator John Kerry of       
Massachusetts. Dean formed the organization Democracy for America and later was     
elected chairman of the Democratic National Committee in February 2005.