VERUCA SALT Biography - Theater, Opera and Movie personalities


Biography » theater opera and movie personalities » veruca salt


Veruca Salt is an alternative rock group of the 1990s, named after a character from Roald Dahl’s Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Louise Post (guitar/vocals), Nina Gordon (guitar/vocals), Steve Lack (bass) and Jim Shapiro (drums) formed in Chicago, releasing “Seether"/"All Hail Me” on Minty Fresh Records , an independent label, in 1994. The single was a success and Veruca Salt accompanied Hole on a tour, then released their debut full-length LP, American Thighs.


After signing to Geffen Records, the band quickly gained in popularity as “Seether” became an MTV hit. The EP Victrola was released in 1995. Veruca Salt’s popularity skyrocketed after their second full album, Eight Arms to Hold You (1997), was released; the album generated two hit singles: Volcano Girls and Shutterbug. Shapiro left the band soon afterwards and was replaced by Stacy Jones (of Letters to Cleo). In 1998, Gordon left to pursue a solo career (her debut album Tonight and the Rest of my Life was published in 2000) and Post reformed the band with Stephen Fitzpatrick (guitar), Suzanne Sokol (bass) and Jimmy Madla (drums), signing with Beyond Records . The debut album with the new lineup was 2000’s Resolver.