THE PRINCE OF WALES Biography - Royalty, Rulers & leaders


Biography » royalty rulers leaders » the prince of wales


The Prince of Wales of the Badge is derived from the ostrich feathers borne by Edward, the Black Prince. The German motto means “I serve.”


The eldest son of the reigning monarch of England/Great Britain is traditionally invested with the title of Prince of Wales. This tradition began in 1301, when King Edward I of England, having completed the Norman conquest of Wales, gave the title to his heir, Prince Edward (later King Edward II of England). The famous story that the king promised the rebellious Welsh natives “a prince born in Wales, who did not speak a word of English” and then produced his infant son may well be apocryphal, as it can only be traced to the 16th century. However, Edward II certainly was born at Caernarfon while his father was campaigning in Wales; and like all infants could not at the time speak English. (Indeed, growing up in the royal court over the succeeding years his first language may well have been Norman French, not English.)


Prior to the conquest of Wales, only a handful of native princes had claimed the title of Prince of Wales, the country having been divided into smaller principalities for most of the post-Roman period. In 1258, the title was claimed by Llywelyn the Last, Prince of Gwynedd, having been briefly held by his uncle, Dafydd ap Llywelyn, who was recognised by King Henry III of England as rightful ruler. In 1301, Edward I conquered Wales and granted the Principality to his eldest son, also named Edward. The Principality, nowadays, is always conferred along with the Earldom of Chester. The convention began only in 1399; all previous Princes of Wales also received the earldom, but separately from the Principality. Indeed, before 1272 a hereditary and not necessarily royal Earldom of Chester had already been created several times, eventually merging in the crown each time. The earldom was recreated, merging in the Crown in 1307 and again in 1327. Its creations since have been associated with the creations of the Principality of Wales.


The Principality of Wales and Earldom of Chester must be created, and are not automatically acquired like the Dukedoms of Cornwall and Rothesay, which are the Heir Apparent’s titles in England and Scotland, respectively (note: the heir apparent is not necessarily Duke of Cornwall, see Duke of Cornwall for more details). The dignities are not hereditary, but may be re-created if the Prince of Wales predeceases the King. For example, when Prince Frederick, Prince of Wales predeceased King George II, his eldest son, Prince George (the future George III) was created Prince of Wales.


Princes of Wales may be invested, but investiture is not necessary to be created Prince of Wales. Peers were also invested, but investitures for peers ceased in 1621, during a time when peerages were being created so frequently that the investiture ceremony became cumbersome. Most investitures for Princes of Wales were held in front of Parliament, but in 1911, the future Edward VIII was invested in Caernarvon Castle in Wales. The present Prince of Wales was also invested there, in 1969. During the reading of the letters patent creating the Principality, the Honours of the Principality of Wales are delivered to the Prince. The coronet of the heir-apparent bears four-crosses pattée alternating with four fleurs-de-lis, surmounted by a single arch (the Sovereign’s crowns are of the same design, but use two arches). A gold rod is also used in the insignia; gold rods were formally used in the investitures of dukes, but survive now in the investitures of Princes of Wales only. Also part of the insignia are a ring, a sword and a robe.


The Prince of Wales is styled His Royal Highness (HRH). The same style is given to the Princess of Wales, by virtue of her marriage. However, as was shown in the case of Diana, Princess of Wales, the style lapses if a Prince and Princess divorce, as it is only hers by virtue of marriage to the Prince of Wales, not in her own right.
The holders of the title have been:
Prince of Wales       Parent       From       To
Edward       Edward I       1301       1307 (acceded as Edward II)
Edward, the Black Prince       Edward III       1330       1376 (death)
Richard of Bordeaux       Edward, the Black Prince       1376       1377 (acceded as Richard II)
Henry of Monmouth       Henry IV       1399       1413 (acceded as Henry V)
Edward, Duke of Cornwall       Henry VI       1453       1471 (death)
Edward Plantagenet       Edward IV       1470       1483 (acceded as Edward V)
Edward, Duke of Cornwall       Richard III       1483       1484 (death)
Arthur, Duke of Cornwall       Henry VII       1486       1502 (death)
Henry, Duke of Cornwall       Henry VII       1502       1509 (acceded as Henry VIII)
Henry, Duke of Cornwall       James I       1603       1612 (death)
Charles, Duke of Cornwall       James I       1612       1625 (acceded as Charles I)
Charles, Duke of Cornwall       Charles I       1630       1649 (acceded as Charles II)
James Francis Edward Stuart       James II       1688       1689 (father’s deposition)
George Augustus, Duke of Cornwall       George I       1714       1727 (acceded as George II)
Frederick Lewis, Duke of Cornwall       George II       1727       1751 (death)
George       Frederick       1751       1760 (acceded as George III)
George, Duke of Cornwall       George III       1762       1820 (acceded as George IV)
HRH Prince Albert Edward       Victoria       1841       1901 (acceded as Edward VII)
HRH Prince George, Duke of Cornwall       Edward VII       1901       1910 (acceded as George V)
HRH Prince Edward, Duke of Cornwall       George V       1910       1936 (acceded as Edward VIII)
HRH Prince Charles, Duke of Cornwall       Elizabeth II       1958               


See also
List of rulers of Wales
Princess of Wales
Prince of Wales tea blend
Ships of the Royal Navy named HMS Prince of Wales.
Prince Of Wales, convict transport ship on First Fleet to Australia.