LOUISE GLüCK Biography - Famous Poets and dancers


Biography » famous poets and dancers » louise gl 252;ck


Louise Glück was born in New York City in 1943 and grew up on Long Island. She         
is the author of numerous books of poetry, most recently, Averno (Farrar, Straus       
and Giroux, 2006), a finalist for the 2006 National Book Award in Poetry; The           
Seven Ages (2001); and Vita Nova (1999), winner of Boston Book Review's Bingham         
Poetry Prize and The New Yorker's Book Award in Poetry. In 2004, Sarabande Books       
released her six-part poem "October" as a chapbook.                                     
Her other books include Meadowlands (1996); The Wild Iris (1992), which received       
the Pulitzer Prize and the Poetry Society of America's William Carlos Williams         
Award; Ararat (1990), for which she received the Library of Congress's Rebekah         
Johnson Bobbitt National Prize for Poetry; and The Triumph of Achilles (1985),         
which received the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Boston Globe Literary       
Press Award, and the Poetry Society of America's Melville Kane Award.                   
In a review in The New Republic, the critic Helen Vendler wrote: "Louise Glück         
is a poet of strong and haunting presence. Her poems, published in a series of         
memorable books over the last twenty years, have achieved the unusual                   
distinction of being neither "confessional" nor "intellectual" in the usual             
senses of those words."                                                                 
She has also published a collection of essays, Proofs and Theories: Essays on           
Poetry (1994), which won the PEN/Martha Albrand Award for Nonfiction. Her honors       
include the Bollingen Prize in Poetry, the Lannan Literary Award for Poetry, a         
Sara Teasdale Memorial Prize, the MIT Anniversary Medal and fellowships from the       
Guggenheim and Rockefeller Foundations, and from the National Endowment for the         
In 1999 Glück was elected a Chancellor of The Academy of American Poets. In the         
fall of 2003, she replaced Billy Collins as the Library of Congress's twelfth           
Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry. In 2003, she was announced as the new judge         
of the Yale Series of Younger Poets, a position she will hold through 2007. She         
is a writer-in-residence at Yale University.