JAMES LAUGHLIN Biography - Craftmen, artisans and people from other Occupations


Biography » craftmen artisans and people from other occupations » james laughlin


Name: James Laughlin                                                                 
Born: 30 October 1914                                                               
Died: 12 November 1997                                                               
James Laughlin (30 October 1914-12 November 1997) was an American poet and           
literary book publisher who founded New Directions Publishers.                       
He was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, the son of Henry Hughart and Marjory       
Rea Laughlin. Laughlin's family had made its fortune with the Jones and Laughlin     
Steel Company, founded a generation earlier by his grandfather, and this wealth     
would partially fund Laughlin's future endeavors in publishing. As Laughlin once     
wrote, "none of this would have been possible without the industry of my             
ancestors, the canny Irishmen who immigrated in 1824 from County Down to             
Pittsburgh, where they built up what became the fourth largest steel company in     
the country. I bless them with every breath."                                       
Laughlin's works include:                                                           
In Another Country (1979)                                                           
Selected Poems (1986)                                                               
The House of Light (1986)                                                           
Tabellae (1986)                                                                     
The Owl of Minerva (1987)                                                           
Collemata and Pound As Wuz (1988)                                                   
Collected Poems of James Laughlin (1992)                                             
Angelica (1992)                                                                     
The Man in the Wall (1993)                                                           
The Country Road (1995)                                                             
The Secret Room (1997)                                                               
A Commonplace Book of Pentastichs (1998)                                             
Byways: A Memoir (2005)                                                             
The Way It Wasn't: From the Files of James Laughlin (2006)